Go Down, Death!

Psalm 116:15-19. 

Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of His saints.

O LORD, truly I am Thy servant; I am Thy servant, and the son of Thine handmaid: Thou hast loosed my bonds.

I will offer to Thee the sacrifice of thanksgiving, and will call upon the Name of the LORD.

I will pay my vows unto the LORD now in the presence of all His people,

In the courts of the LORD’S house, in the midst of thee, O Jerusalem. Praise ye the LORD.

Why is the death of a believer precious to God? I think it is because that soul is now completely redeemed, forever safe in the arms of the One Who sacrificed His Son for just that purpose. 

Lately, it seems heaven is becoming more and more populated with people I have known and loved. I look forward to the reunion that will take place when I enter heaven. First, I will see Jesus! After a few million years, nothing in our time, I will be reunited with family members: Dad, Mom, my brother; babies that Mom miscarried over 76 years ago; grandparents I don’t remember because they went to heaven when I was only a baby; and grandparents I knew and loved. And then, of course, countless friends. No wonder heaven has no time limits! God knew we would spend all of eternity having conversations with countless people whose lives met with ours, however briefly. What a glorious day that will be!

The psalmist ends this psalm by repeating his determination to perform his worship of praise and thanksgiving in front of God’s people, as we also should do.

Finally, Verse 15 always makes me think of this wonderful poem written by James Weldon, performed here by the amazing Wintley Phipps: Go Down, Death.

Leave a comment