A Joyful Noise

Psalm 66:1-2.

Make a joyful noise unto God, all ye lands:

Sing forth the honour of His Name: make His praise glorious.

My husband loves this verse. He loves music, but he can’t sing. He does okay if I sing the melody with him, but the minute I start to harmonize, he’s lost. So he claims this verse as his own, and goes ahead and makes his joyful noise 🙂

I love it, too. Music is my favorite form of praise. I’m so thankful that God is a musical Being, and that He shares the music with us. I look forward SO much to hearing God sing! Can’t even begin to imagine what that will sound like!

Music is important in the Bible. There are 150 songs in the Book of Psalms, some short, a few quite long. Since it is Hebrew, I imagine the original melodies were often in a minor key, rich in beauty and harmony.

I like to imagine the thousands of voices raised in song in a large synagogue.

Since I was just a little girl, I have been thrilled with church music done well, with joy and energy. I still love it today. It is very sad to me that my voice has grown old right along with the rest of me, and I can no longer hold my own vocally. Every now and then my voice is good for a little while, but it doesn’t last.

But I can still make my own joyful noise to the Lord 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Joyful Noise

  1. I understand completely. My sister, Verna, lost her singing to a cancerous voice box probably only in her fifties. She kept up the piano playing, however. I can still hit a tune a little bit here at home where I can come and go into or out of any key. 😀 But even that is very short in volume and endurance.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment