God’s Great Blessings

Psalm 65:9-13.

Thou visitest the earth, and waterest it: Thou greatly enrichest it with the river of God, which is full of water: Thou preparest them corn, when Thou hast so provided for it.

Thou waterest the ridges thereof abundantly: Thou settlest the furrows thereof: Thou makest it soft with showers: Thou blessest the springing thereof.

Thou crownest the year with Thy goodness; and Thy paths drop fatness.

They drop upon the pastures of the wilderness: and the little hills rejoice on every side.

The pastures are clothed with flocks; the valleys also are covered over with corn; they shout for joy, they also sing.

If you noticed the German words in the upper left of this photo, they mean “God’s streams are always full of water.” I can figure out some of what I read in German, but I sure am thankful for the options to translate online! I really wish I could read German well. Maybe that will be my next project 🙂

This passage is so full of praise to God; it is full of poetic imagery that speaks to my heart and soul.

The rivers of God never run dry.

It is my understanding that “corn” often means “wheat” in the scripture. I don’t know if this applies 100% of the time, but I’m fairly certain that it applies here. Picture fields of ripe wheat, bending in the breeze. I spent a lot of my growing-up years in the Midwest, and this is a very familiar scene to me:

Verse 11 put me in mind of many people I know and remember who grew up during the Great Depression of the 1930s. To them, fatness was a sign of good health, prosperity, having plenty of food. They were not ashamed of carrying more poundage than we consider healthy or attractive these days. In the context of this verse, fatness was simply abundance. Plenty. Blessings overflowing.

The hills and the pastures rejoice! They shout for joy! They sing! All because of the blessings of God, Who hears our prayers.

Leave a comment