Sunday Morning Coffee: Music

I set my coffee mug down on the table by my chair, sat down and pulled my computer to my lap. I said, “Alexa, play Abiding Radio.” I have it set on “instrumental” right now. I love beautifully orchestrated  sacred music.

The first song I heard was “As morning gilds the skies, my heart ,awakening, cries, ‘May Jesus Christ be praised!'”  As I listened, I  did an instant time travel back to when I was about eight or nine years old.

The music director at Fourth Baptist Church in Minneapolis had decided to start a children’s choir. Oh, my heart!  I was so excited!  I loved to sing, and I think I may have been first in line to audition!

Glory!  I was accepted into the choir, and under the director’s able leadership, we tackled some pretty hard music. This hymn was one that I clearly remember.  He went over the words with us, making sure we knew exactly what the song meant.  And by the way,  that’s a really good thing to do when your kids are memorizing scripture.  Helps them “get it” faster when they fully understand what the words mean.

That hymn was a paean of praise, and I have loved it ever since.  Here’s a beautiful version for your enjoyment:

 

10 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coffee: Music

    1. Thank you, Peter. I am truly honored. I decided some time ago to become an “award-free blog” simply because of the time it takes to participate fully. I hope you will understand. Every kind comment, every offer of an award, is deeply appreciated.

      1. I understand. This was my first experience with the awards and I had no idea how time consuming it was. It took up quite a few hours. I’m rethinking it myself because those are hours that I should have spent working on the book itself ~ Blessings!

Leave a Reply

