Sunday Morning Coffee: Alexa

My daughter and son-in-law gave me an Alexa Dot for my birthday.  Don’t know what that is?  It’s a gadget that you connect to your wi-fi and then load up with apps from the Alexa App that you can get on your smart phone.

8-dot

So, once you get it connected, you add whatever apps appeal to you–and there are lots of free ones–and you’re ready to have some fun.   There a news updates, games (I like the Jeopardy app) silly jokes, trivia, and lots of music. Some of it you can’t get without paying–that’s up to you. So far I’m sticking with the free stuff.

You operate your Alexa by speaking her name, and then asking her to do whatever you’d like.  Example:  “Alexa, play Jeopardy.”  Bingo, you’re off and running.

I’ve even figured out how to  load it up with music I have on my PC.  I transferred it to my Mac via Amazon Music, then  loaded it into my Alexa.  So now I can get music I really love, just by asking for it. If I ask it for something that hasn’t been loaded via apps or Amazon music, it will tell me so.

I can get a news update any time.  Same thing with weather.  And silly jokes. If I really want to, I can even connect it with other Alexas and use it like a telephone. Depending on the apps you choose, you can get historical information, medical information, poetry, helpful hints, or a daily inspirational Bible verse. It’s endless, really.

As I’ve played with my new toy, I’ve been thinking:  Wouldn’t it be cool if we had an app  that we could use to get direct communication with God?  Ask Him anything, and He would answer.  What am I supposed to be when I grow up?  Who should I marry? What car should I buy?  Where should I attend college?  Church? Should I move? What should we name our new baby?  Where should we go on vacation?

But wouldn’t that just turn us into robots, doing whatever the app told us to do?  Would we fail to use it if we knew we were wanting something that wouldn’t be good for us?  Would we ignore the voice that answers all our questions?

Yes, I think we would.  After all, we have the written Word of God, and how often do we consult it when we have questions to answer?  When we’re seeking direction?

How often do we seek human counsel instead, failing to pray and search the scriptures? And getting advice that has nothing to do with godliness or His Word?

Bottom line:  Alexa is a human creation, and it knows only what is programmed into it.  It can be both fun and useful, but it doesn’t care about you, or love you, or provide a way for you to have eternal life in heaven with God.

You’ll get all that from studying God’s Word, and praying earnestly  to  know Him better.

There is no greater gift.

10 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coffee: Alexa

  1. Sharon Olsen

    My sister has one of these. She listens to “Abiding Radio” which is non stop Christian music vocal or instrumental or seasonal. Non commercial as well. Check it out.

  2. Haven’t you advanced technologically! I’ve never heard of an Alexa and your explanation didn’t do much to un-murk the waters. 🙂 Are you attaching it to your computer and uploading apps (programmes?) to your phone, or are you uploading more apps to your computer from your phone?

    But as to an app that could connect us to God for answers, no, I don’t think it would make us into robots. It would make God into our robot. “Cough up an answer, God!”

    We might get quick answers, but our spiritual “ears” for hearing what He wants to say to us would grow deaf. Human nature being what it is, we’d probably keep re-sending until we got the answer back we liked the best.

    1. You plug Alexa in to an ordinary socket. Use your smart phone to get the Alexa app, which helps you link Alexa to your smart phone. From there, you find all kinds of apps in the Alexa app. It took me a bit longer to figure out how to livestream a radio station to Alexa, but I think I’ve got it. Pretty cool 🙂

      I agree with you about the “God App.” We would definitely misuse it, wouldn’t we?

  3. I love Christine’s response. Ditto.
    In my opinion, these electronic devices are driving unbelievers further and further from God or even a desire for godliness. Christians who used to mark up their Bibles and truly study are now casually reading an electronic device and not cross referencing things for themselves. Once I weaned myself off of a cross reference Bible due to print size, I have taken giant steps in doing my own Bible study referencing. When someone else does it for you, it creates laziness.
    As for the games and music, that would be fun, as long as it kept its own place. Too many people lack the self control needed. When you get to the bottom line of most of these handy devices, it is about self control. We all have a weak spot.

  4. And games can be so addictive. Merrian-Webster offers some quite basic Scrabble-type and word-puzzle type games on their site and when I started doing Spell-Tower I was instantly addicted! I really have to discipline myself to play only a few games and then leave it. “All things are lawful for me, but I will not be brought under the power of any.”

    One time when I’d spent half-hour or so at it, I was reproved by the thought, “You’re robbing God here, wasting the time you could be spending with his Word.” I can’t imagine how addictive gambling machines must be!

    1. Agreed. I like the Jeopardy app because there are six questions and you’re done until the next day 🙂

      I do agree that we’ve been pulled into the world of electronics way too deeply. I’ve been doing a lot of reminiscing lately, and I remember being outdoors ALL the time when the weather allowed. We played with other kids face to face, not just face-time to face-time 🙂

      1. This is partly why I’m taking this next week off blogging, except as a before-bed e-mail check. I need to step back a minute. But I also have two book commitments that need to be taken care of right away: beta read another writer’s book and finish compiling my own.

Leave a Reply

