Sunday Morning Coffee: Pain

I tell people all the time, in my work, that we can learn something from every experience we have.  Easy for me to say, not always so easy for me to take my own advice.

How about this?  I think I’ve learned enough, okay? I mean, I’m learning patience; fortitude; endurance; how to work, when your pain pills are making you loopy, and you have to act as if you’re on your best game.  The dragging weariness at the end of a long workday when I’m  not sure  I can even make it home. I’m learning to accept interrupted sleep when I move  during the night and the pain wakes me up. I’m getting pretty good at going back to sleep quickly.

back-pain

I’m in waiting mode again.  I’ll have surgery to fuse my right sacroiliac joint. If it works as well as the left side did back in January, it will be an immense relief.  So I know that there’s almost certainly an end point.  For a while. Until something else get degenerated enough to cause pain. Then we’ll start the rounds of shots again, and if it’s possible, surgery.

Okay.  So, where do I go but to the Lord?  I can think of so many verses right now that it’s impossible to share them all.  The one that keeps rising to the top, though, is  this one.           II Corinthians 12: 8-10:

Concerning this thing I pleaded with the Lord three times that it might depart from me.  And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.  Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

See, I’m not the only one.  And Paul suffered, truly suffered, over and over again. He begged God to remove something that was a source of some kind of pain to him, and God said, “No,”  So Paul accepted God’s Word and His will, and I suspect that it was partly because he knew it would be an encouragement for other believers down through the halls of time until Christ returns.

It’s true that my condition is a natural part of aging.  The body slows down, winds down, breaks down. And it is during these so-called “declining years” that many of us have to learn as never before to depend on His strength, which is made complete in our weakness.

So that’s what I’m learning. Slowly, because sometimes I’m just stubborn,

 

Leave a Reply

