Sunday Morning Coffee: Another New Year

We have a clear blue sky, with forecast temps in the 40’s.  Not bad for a PA January day!

newyear_numbers61

I remember when I was very young that on New Year’s Day I would write a big long list of resolutions to keep for the year. Did I keep them?  I don’t remember 🙂

I think the best thing a list of resolutions does for us is to make us think about our state of mind.  It’s kind of a like the State of the Union speech, only it’s personal and sometimes private. The state of my heart, my thinking, my attitude.Even after all these years, there’s always something that needs to be re-evaluated.

I don’t make resolutions any more, at least not written down in a diary or a journal of any kind.  Somewhere along the way, resolutions just became a part of my life routine, my daily work or relaxation. You do what needs doing, you accomplish what you can, you learn a new skill or renew an old one. You try to mend whatever fences need mending, you do your best to be kind and reasonable.

One resolution I made nearly 50 years  ago, one I have kept every single year, is to read the Bible through.  It takes a little over ten months if you read four chapters each day. And even after all these years, there is a sense of excitement and curiosity when I start with “In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.” What will God show me this year? What words will pop off the page and strike me as if I’d never seen them before? It always happens.  I find myself following a stream of thought, a theme if you will, looking every day for something to add to it. One year, it was women in the Bible. Who they were, what they did, were they good or evil, and how did God use them.  Another, it was wisdom. This past year, I’ve been impressed with endurance. Another year, it was controlling one’s temper. I wonder what it will be this year.

Something else I’ve done for the same amount of years is to read the book of Proverbs through every month, reading the chapter that corresponds to the day’s date. Today I will read Chapter One.  When there are thirty days, I read the last two chapters on the same day.  This past year, perhaps because of the frequency of situations in my counseling office, Proverbs 7 has made a strong impression on my thinking; the foolish young man and the “strange woman,” and all the trouble that ensues from immoral behavior.

Well, that’s about it.  I’m writing out loud this morning, putting words down as they come to mind.  And to wrap it up, here are the words that come to mind right now:

Happy New Year !  May you renew and strengthen your relationship with the Lord this year.

4 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coffee: Another New Year

Leave a Reply

