Sunday Morning Coffee, a Bit Late

Well. Talk about a roller coaster.  I’ve been feeling a lot better for nearly three weeks now, even venturing out on my own now and then. Went to church last week, attended a Christmas gathering on Friday night with our church women.  I was really tired yesterday, and spent a lot of time doing nothing.

Last night, or rather early this morning,  I woke up with acute pain right where this whole thing started. Not a nice wake-up call. I have no idea what triggered it. I guess that doesn’t really matter much.  It was back, and I felt SO defeated!  I got up, took a pain pill and a muscle relaxer that I haven’t needed in over three weeks.

Terry heard me moving around and  he got up too, wondering if there was anything he could do for me. And telling me there was no church in my immediate future.

Bah.  Humbug.

The meds put me deeply asleep.  I didn’t wake up until 10 a.m., a solid six hours of deep sleep.  Just what I needed, apparently, because the acute pain is gone.  It left me with a deep ache, though, so I’m on notice not to mess around with it.

091322a242b03a5ac457cb0ecd3c7396

I imagine it like the old Pacman dudes that were really nothing but great big mouths running around eating the bad guys.  I have a Pacman chewing on my sacroiliac joint. The nibbles I can tolerate, but if I get too cocky  he takes a  big bite, just to remind me who’s boss.

So.  I get it already.  Settle down, Pacman. Just settle down.

It’s all good, though.  I can still enjoy my coffee.  And maybe this is just a reminder from God that things aren’t fixed back there  yet, and I need to be careful.  Okay.  I get it.  I really do.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coffee, a Bit Late

  1. The time toward surgery is narrowing down. I am reminded of the verse somewhere in Ruth where Naomi tells Ruth, “Sit still my daughter. . .” and while it is difficult to wait, and wait and wait some more, it is my prayer that the surgery will be successful and you will once again be up and active; at least striking a balance between busy active and quiet active.

Leave a Reply

