Send Me!

Isaiah 6:8. “Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us? Then said I, Here am I: send me.”

Image result for Isaiah 6:8

This is perhaps one of the most well-known verses in all of scripture. It is the final result of the preparation of the heart of mankind to answer the call to service; to share the gospel with those who need to hear, and with those who have never heard.

What a profound moment this must have been for Isaiah, to actually hear the voice of God asking that question. “Who will go for Us?”  And his immediate, unhesitating response was “Me, Lord!  Send me!  I’ll go!  I’ll preach and prophesy and speak to the people in Your Name!”

There was nothing prideful in his response.  Remember, he’d been brought to his knees, face to the ground, by the vision he’d had. He knew only that God was calling him for a job that God would give him the power, the strength, the words, to do.

This verse has often been used in missions conferences.  When I was in in college, I first heard a song based on this verse.

One thought on “Send Me!

Leave a Reply

