Sunday Morning Coffee: I am NOT. . .

. . . . . .all  the horrible epithets that are being thrown around.

I am not a racist. Not. I don’t care what color you are.  It doesn’t matter. Never did. You have to understand that I am only one generation away from those who fought in WWII, and racial epithets were a normal part of vocabulary. I’ve heard them all.  I don’t use them.  Race isn’t the problem. I would have no hesitation to vote for a Black person who shares my convictions.  I would love to have voted for Ben Carson. Please get over the idea that ALL CONSERVATIVES ARE RACIST.  That’s like saying all liberals hate all conservatives.  I know that’s not true because I have some liberal friends.

I am not homophobic.  I do not hate everyone in the GLBT community. I don’t agree with their agenda, but I do not hate them.  I can tell you that one of the most vitriolic tirades I ever had to endure was in one of my classes when I was earning my master’s degree. His hatred toward anyone who disagrees with him had a life of its own. Even other gay people in my class were uncomfortable with his acid attitude.

I am not sexist.  I would vote for a woman if she agreed with my convictions. I admire many women who are leaders, movers and shakers, willing to stand up.  And I don’t hate men, either.  This isn’t about gender.  It’s about beliefs.  More, it’s about upholding American values listed in the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution. I find it deplorable (that’s still a good word, Hillary, even though you used it in a deplorable manner) that so much ugliness and abuse has been perpetrated over the years in our efforts in America to find that place where “all men are created equal.” There is no justification for slavery and its accompanying evils. No justification for any of the evil that dwells in human hearts, liberal and conservative alike.

I am not  a xenophobe.  I had to go look that one up when the liberals first started using it as another negative epithet to hurl at conservatives. I am not afraid of what I don’t know or understand. I am far more afraid of what I DO understand: Mankind (not a sexist word. It means all of humanity) is capable of genocide, fratricide, homicide to get its own way.  We’re not much good at compromise.  I am afraid of rattlesnakes.  I understand that their nature is to strike because THEY are afraid.  Similarly, fearful people tend to strike out indiscriminately . I am afraid of deceit, because it sows the seeds of murderous hatred. I am particularly afraid of the idea that a one-world government is a good thing.  No, it is not. You think Trump is going to limit your freedoms?  Wait until America is no more than another pebble in the sea of nations, and you’ll find out what limited freedom is about.

I am sure that there are other ugly words, but I think I’m done here.  What I’m trying to say is, “Please don’t do to me and others who believe as I do what you accuse us of doing to you.” As far as I know, this is the first time in the history of America that there have been violent protests over an election that have lasted for days. And it’s not the conservatives who are perpetrating the riots.  It’s those who are demanding peace,  love, and tolerance.

Can you love me in spite of the fact that I am a Bible-believing Christian?  Can you leave alone my rights to worship and believe as I please? Can you really?  Or do you want to take it all away because you don’t agree with me?

The road runs both ways.

6 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coffee: I am NOT. . .

  1. Don’t kid yourself, these are the anti-Christ hypocrites that pretend to want peace and love but don’t even recognize the Prince of Peace. They take His Words and pretend it’s their idea and give Jesus no credit, but mock his people. They are as demonic as they come. This is why when evil wins no one does anything because they are God’s people and when evil loses their minions are angry. These people are making me very tired because I can’t even believe they are for real so I have to ignore their antics unless they bring it to my neighborhood. I moved from one of the largest Muslim populated cities in metro Detroit to the country where Trump/Pence signs abounded. After the election many replaced those signs with large American flags. So nice to see driving down the highway out in the sticks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know. I really wasn’t addressing the rioters, because they’ve chosen their path. But there are lots of democrats out there who believe the rhetoric. I hope one or two of them will stop and think.

      Like

Leave a Reply

