Fifth Woe: Pride

Isaiah 5:21. “Woe unto them that are wise in their own eyes, and prudent in their own sight.”

Image result for Woe unto them that are wise in their own eyes

We all know people like this guy, who think very highly of themselves and their own knowledge and abilities.  They never outwardly doubt their own wisdom, although they may worry inwardly that they just aren’t up to the job. Most of the time, though, they’re very confident that they have all the answers, including their knowledge of God and His will.

Has anyone ever told you, “You need to pay attention to me, because I know God’s will for your life”?  It happened to me once, a long time ago, and my response was completely inappropriate.Cutting and sarcastic.  Looking back, I believe the person who said that probably did want to help me, but I was just not impressed with his pompous attitude and patronizing manner.  I would react differently today, but I still would not be impressed with someone who claims to know God’s will for my life.

 God isn’t impressed with our vanity, either. Sometimes we seem to think we’re doing God a favor in our “service” to Him. We’re not.  God got along without us for a very long time, and He’ll be just fine after we are dust.  Those who seek God’s direction in humility and with a servant’s heart will be used far more effectively than those who are so impressed with themselves that they can’t hear God’s voice in His Word.

One thought on “Fifth Woe: Pride

Leave a Reply

