Sunday Morning Coffee: Home Alone

Last night at supper:

Me:  So, would you be willing to skip Sunday school and just go to the main service tomorrow?

Him:  Why?

Me:  Well, I think I could handle sitting for an hour or so.  Two hours would be too much.

Him:  Nope.

Me:  What?  Nope?  Just NOPE?  Is that all you have to say?

Him:  Yup.

Me: . .  . . . . . . . . . . . 

******************

You’ll notice I’m not at church.  Makes me so mad to admit that he’s right 🙂

old-couple-argument-argue-funny-wife-husband-38800475

9 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coffee: Home Alone

  1. I am home this morning too. I overdid it at Metamora on Friday. Yesterday I could hardly move and didn’t even get dressed until after 2. I’m better this morning but not quite “there” yet.
    I’ll be finding something here in a few minutes, probably from Dallas Theological Seminary. They send me their chapel services to watch.
    Many have been the times when Bob and kids all merrily left me home alone after coming home from the hospital and never gave it a thought how very lonely a Sunday morning can be. I guess is prepared me for the times when my knees play out on me now. Worst part for me now is that I am able to take so little for pain with the kidney condition in the background. Praise the Lord for accessibility to good teaching and singing in our tech age.

    1. I’m sorry you’re in pain. It does feel odd not to be in church. I’ve put in some of my favorite CD’s, enjoying listening with no interruptions. Rarely happens 🙂

      1. Right. It is God’s way of letting us know to be careful with knives and matches–and ice! And walking for long periods of time on uneven ground like I did last Friday. One more day here and I should be back to normal for me.

      1. michaelkreger

        Yeah…

        I find fellowship in many places. Church seems to be little more than a source of conflict…arguing about how many angels can dance on the head of a pin, and declaring that your number is the ONLY CORRECT NUMBER AND ANY OTHER NUMBERS ARE THE PATH TO PERDITION. The only way to avoid that conflict is to avoid the place, or to shut up and let the Stupid happen. But that isn’t actually avoiding the conflict, is it?

Leave a Reply

