A Little Rant

If you’re tired of hearing me complain about trying to lose weight, control sugar, exercise, etc. just go read something else.  I’m writing this more for my own benefit–trying to vent in a healthier way than going out and finding the biggest tub of chocolate ice cream there is.

0076840485110_cf_hyvee_default_large

So I lost 17 lb., felt really good about it, and then. . . . . . . nothing.  Zero.

A couple of factors.  My back went wonky on me, and I went through about three months of pretty bad pain before my doctor and I finally got it under control.  I couldn’t even swim, so exercise was a zero. Walking is painful. It’s frustrating.

I’m back in the pool now, did ten laps this morning.  Then, on my way out the door, I saw the sign informing us that the pool will be closed for two weeks for maintenance and cleaning.

Sigh.  Sigh. Sigh.  Just when i was getting back into my groove.

A week ago, I finally committed to a very low carb food plan for just one week.  Actually, it wasn’t too different from the way I’ve been eating. Lots of protein, good veggies, some fruit. Very few carbs, and nothing more than 15 grams of carbs in any meal.  Fifteen grams is one serving.  I had lost that 17 pounds by staying around 11 or 12 servings per day.

Are you on the edge of your seat?  Waiting to hear about the astonishing amount of weight that happily melted off my belly this week? Yeah?  Well, relax.  Go watch the Olympics or something. Because NOTHING happened this week!  My blood sugar may be nice and low, I don’t know.  I don’t have to check it every day, at this point, because my A1C comes in at about 6.4, which is below the red line for active diabetes.

And if you don’t know what the A1C is, or anything about diabetes, and you’re over 50, just go away.  I don’t like you. You bother me. That’s because you probably can eat just about anything you want, and you don’t gain weight.

Do you have any idea how annoying that is?

Really.  Go smack yourself for me.

I’m so sick of this battle.

No, I’m not giving up.  I don’t want to live with the complications of diabetes. They’re nasty. Eyes, heart, lungs, circulation–you just don’t want to go there, and so far I’ve kept it at bay.  I take one medication orally, and that, along with my diet, is working pretty well.

Except that I can’t lose the weight.

Just. Can’t. Get. It. Off.

And yes, I’ve tried everything out there, and I don’t want to hear about any more miraculous new products or secret methods like those stupid ads on Facebook have–“Just do this one simple trick every night before you go to be to melt the fat off you stomach.”

Right.

What about bariatric surgery?

I know several people who’ve had some form of that done, and they lost a ton of weight. With only one exception,  they’ve all had rebound weight gain of up to 40 or more pounds. I don’t think I want to risk any of the possible side effects, and so far, none of my medical people have suggested it to me.

Well, I’m actually feeling a little less angry and frustrated.  I think my temper is under control. So whether anyone reads this or not, I feel better.

One more thing.  Yes, I’ve looked at this as possibly a spiritual problem, a lack of self-control, etc.  The thing is, I really do eat pretty carefully.  I have often begged the Lord to show me if there is something in me that is in rebellion, if I’m just a selfish pig. There is no question that I’ve been an emotional eater, but I believe that is no longer a problem.

So, my friends, please don’t preach at me, and please resist the urge to tell me all about how you dropped 500 pounds eating nothing but grapefruit rinds and eggshells.

Been there, done that.

10 thoughts on “A Little Rant

  1. Marilyn Denney

    Hang in there! Sometimes our bodies plane with weight loss, even when we are eating right. The best thing is that you are keeping your numbers down and only taking one med for the diabetes. Having watched my grandma eat wrong and not take care of herself, most likely out of loneliness, and seeing in the end it caused her enough damage that she couldn’t recover from surgery and infection, I want to let you know how important your health really is. You have a bunch of young grandkids, who are being the greatest gift, a grandma taking care of her health. So keep it up!! I’m proud of you for taking the bull by the horn and not giving up!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The older you get the more you need to “tweak” your diet. I have tried tons of stuff through the years myself. I am still trying to lose just another 15-20 at this time and what helps is the fact that I have to watch my sugar, fats cholesterol and sodium. The last thing I need is to become obsessive compulsive about my food, lol. By the time you do some of these things, you will be lowering your caloric intake. Problem is when I find things low in this and that and then I think I can eat more of it and get away with it when you have to look at what calories and carbs there are. Now that I read “everything” I put into my mouth, I stick with salads and vedges and luckily I love them. I would love them more if I can begin growing them in the backyard again soon. Good luck and don’t give up. By changing from frozen ice cream to yogurt for the extra probiotics needed I see it also has less fat which helps, but again you have to look at big pictures of everything and keep moving, however you need to keep moving. I wrote on my blog about dancing when you do the dishes, also if you watch a show, try to stand and step side to side. People need way more exercise than they realize. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lora

    Yes! My girlfriend and I ranted about this today! Have you read “Trim Healthy Mama”? We are giving that a try. They explain a lot about healthy alternatives, etc. Interesting read if nothing else. Don’t give up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t. I probably should, but I’m just tired of reading all the books, article, helpful hints blah blah blah. I’m in such a funk, I feel like I could probably write a ten-volume series on all the stuff I’ve read, heard, and tried over the years. But no, I’m not giving up.

      Like

Leave a Reply

