Sunday Morning Coffee: The Olympics, of Course!

Wasn’t it exciting to watch the final swim event, the relay?  Four medal-winning women, four medal-winning men. Amazing speed, amazing strength, just amazing.  We watched a newbie, Simone Manuel, achieve her first gold; we watched veteran Michael Phelps, who doesn’t seem to have lost an ounce of energy, strength or speed, power his way to his 28th gold medal.

michael-phelps-swimming-butterfly-olympics-700x466

The Americans hit a world record of getting 1000 summer gold medals, starting in 1896.  That’s something to crow about!

I like to swim.  It’s about the only exercise my back will tolerate, and I had to stay out of the pool for a few months while pain treatments did their job. Things seem to be under control right now, so last week, I went back and managed to do five laps, then six the next time, and seven yesterday.

I was joking with my husband last night, watching those amazing swimmers, that I could swim like that.  He didn’t even bother to respond.  The man has no sense of humor 🙂

I really do feel comfortable in the water, always have. I’m as slow as a snail moving against a strong wind, but swimming gives me a feeling of lightness and even power that nothing else does.

Watching those Olympic swimmers last night, of course, led me to think about the Apostle Paul’s statement: II Timothy 4:6-8.

6For I am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand. 7I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith: 8Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.

Paul was nearing the time of his execution, which was the earthly prize he had earned for his faithful preaching of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I find this passage incredibly encouraging.  I think Paul would have loved watching our modern Olympics, especially the foot races (congrats to the two Jamaicans and one American, women who just amazed me with their speed last night).

Paul had run a years-long race, filled with obstacles few of us would choose to endure. Yet, he did not dread his final sprint to the finish line. Instead, he looked back over his life with Christ, knowing he had run well.  He looked forward to the crown of righteousness that, in another passage, we know he will lay at Jesus’ feet.  He knew he was going to see the Lord before  many thousands of the rest of us who are still waiting, hoping for His appearance.

Until then, we have a race to run. I want to be able to say I’ve run well, fought a good fight, kept the faith; that I’ve not given up, not wimped out when things are difficult.  I want to have a crown to lay at Jesus’ feet.

Leave a Reply

