God Will Restore

Isaiah 1:24-27

24 Therefore saith the Lord, the Lord of hosts, the mighty One of Israel, Ah, I will ease me of mine adversaries, and avenge me of mine enemies:

25 And I will turn my hand upon thee, and purely purge away thy dross, and take away all thy tin:

26 And I will restore thy judges as at the first, and thy counsellors as at the beginning: afterward thou shalt be called, The city of righteousness, the faithful city.

27 Zion shall be redeemed with judgment, and her converts with righteousness.

“The Lord, Jehovah of Hosts, the mighty One of Israel!”  What an amazing  title, and this( in italics) is the only place in scripture that it is used. God wanted to leave no doubt in anyone’s mind of exactly Who He was.  The Mighty ONE of Israel.

He was the One Who could and would restore Israel. Let’s look at the promises:

  1. I will turn My hand upon thee:  His strong hand would redeem them from their sin, cleanse out the dross and take away the tin (or lead).
  2. Righteous  judges and counselors would be installed in place of weak, sinful rulers, and they would be similar to those in the earliest days of David and Solomon.
  3. The day is drawing near when Zion would be call “The city of righteousness,” a faithful city, a citadel.

These wonderful changes would come about from the acts of God in redeeming Zion with faithful judges, and there will converts who looked on Jesus Christ with unbelieving eyes, but who will recognize that He was indeed the Son of God.

All three of my sources agree that verses  24-31 will be fulfilled during the Millenial Kingdom. It certainly hasn’t happened yet. Jerusalem is torn and embattled, but the day will come when Jesus will reign in peace, and the city will be a stronghold.

This is probably a good place to explain that in the Hebrew language, there is a far-future verb tense that is different from talking about next week or next year. I am certainly not a Hebrew scholar. I rely on commentators that I trust, and whose work has stood the test of time.  My three primary sources are W.E. Vine’s Isaiah;  my Dake’s  Study Bible; and Matthew Henry’s Commentary.  I also rely heavily on Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance as well as The Wycliffe Bible Commentary.

 

2 thoughts on “God Will Restore

  1. When my upgrade was done on my computer, one of the programs that the IT guy did not restore was e Sword. I missed it dreadfully and soon had it back! I like the Strong’s number that give depth of meaning for both Greek and Hebrew words. Until one loses something the value isn’t quite as important. Sounds as if you have an arsenal of very good study tools. Thank you for all your work.

Leave a Reply

