Isaiah: Introduction

Who was Isaiah?  He wrote one of the longest books in the Bible. There is some controversy over whether or not there was another writer. I do not believe there was. The discovery of the Dead Sea scrolls has effectively put that controversy to rest.

I do not know Hebrew.  I wish I did. I would love to be able to read this book in its original language. I do, however, have some respected and reliable resources to help in this project.

Isaiah was a prophet, the son of Amoz (not the prophet Amos). He served Judah and Jerusalem in the days of Kings Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz, and Hezekiah of Judah. (Isa 1:1) Kings Pekah and Hoshea were ruling in the northern kingdom of Israel, which ended in 740 B.C., during the time of Isaiah’s prophetic service. Contemporary prophets were Micah, Hosea, and Oded (II Chron. 28:9). Isaiah evidently began his prophesying later than Hosea did and before Micah began. (Ho 1:1; Mic 1:1.)


During Isaiah’s prophetic service to Judah, especially in the days of King Ahaz, the kingdom was in a deplorable moral state. It was full of revolt on the part of both princes and people, and in Jehovah’s eyes the nation was sick in the heart and in the head. The rulers were called “dictators of Sodom” and the people likened to “people of Gomorrah.” (Isa 1:2-10) Isaiah was told in advance that their ears would be unresponsive. Jehovah said that this situation would continue until the nation would come to ruin and that only “a tenth,” “a holy seed,” would be left like the stump of a massive tree. Isaiah’s prophetic work must have comforted and strengthened the faith of that small number, even though the rest of the nation refused to take heed.—(Isa 6:1-13.)


Though concentrating on Judah, Isaiah also uttered prophecies concerning Israel and the nations round about, as they had a bearing on Judah’s situation and history. He enjoyed a long term in the prophetic office, starting in about 778 B.C., when King Uzziah died, or possibly earlier, and continuing until sometime after the 14th year of Hezekiah’s reign (732 B.C.).—(Isa 36:1, 2; 37:37, 38.)


Isaiah’s Family: Isaiah was married. His wife is called “the prophetess” (Isa 8:3), which seems to mean more than merely the wife of a prophet. Evidently, like Deborah of the time of the Judges and like Huldah during Josiah’s reign, she had a prophetic assignment from Jehovah.—(Jg 4:4; 2Ki 22:14.)

**********************

More tomorrow.  There is so much information to digest, and I don’t want these posts to be overly long.

5 thoughts on “Isaiah: Introduction

    1. I understand what you’re saying. I do have a lot of confidence in several translations, and in some commentators who have been tried and true. And I always have my trusty Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance, which is an amazing work. Thankful for those who have dedicated their lives to making God’s Word clear.

      Like

  1. Isaiah is my all time favorite prophet. My go to verse is: In the year King Usiah died I saw the Lord, high and lifted up and the train of his robe filled the temple…an I said, woe is me, for I am a man of unclean lips and I live among a people of unclean lips. One of those in white robes who stood beside the throne, took a hot coal from the burning altar with tongs and touched it to my lips..they said, who will go for us and who will we send? I said…send me!
    OMG! That speaks to my very soul…! TBTG!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

