Sunday Morning Coffee

We’ll be heading off to church in 1 1/2 hours. In the meantime, I’m enjoying a quiet period with my Bible and a cup of delicious coffee.  I’ve been reading in Isaiah in preparation for starting a study on that book here on this blog tomorrow morning.  I just read  the first part of chapter six, and I got totally stopped on Isaiah’s words:

 In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord, high and exalted, seated on a throne; and the train of his robe filled the temple. Above him were seraphim, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying. And they were calling to one another:

“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty;
    the whole earth is full of his glory.”

At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke.

“Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LordAlmighty.”

Isaiah was privileged to see this vision of Jehovah, the Lord, high and lifted up. It brought him to his knees as he acknowledged the complete holiness of God.  He believed he was unworthy of such an experience, and he knew no man had ever seen the face of God and lived to tell about it.

God’s face is not mentioned here. Instead, we are told of His glory. We are told of the angels who flew around Him, calling to each other that the Lord Almighty is three times holy, and that His glory fills not just the heavens but also the earth.

And that last part of the sentence is where I got stuck. The earth is full of His glory.

I look out my front window and see the tender green of the dogwood tree in our front yard; the darker green of older trees across the street; the clear blue of an after-the-storm sky. I hear the birdsong that fills the air, and I see the early morning light of the sun , and I am thankful that in spite of Satan, in spite of politics, in spite of Islamic terrorists, in spite of police-haters, in spite of Hillary and Obama and their minions, in spite of the existence of evil in this world, still God’s glory fills the earth, and we are privileged to see it every single day.

prothonotary-warbler-protonotaria-citrea-neal-addy-gallery

 

5 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Coffee

  1. Margie

    thanks for the reminder!
    The WHOLE earth
    IS full of HIS glory,
    no matter how miserable things get.
    How often we forget!

Leave a Reply

