Give Thanks!

Ephesians 5:20. “Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ:”

Remember when the Peanuts gang had just toast and popcorn for Thanksgiving dinner? Would you and I have been thankful, doing our happy dance for such meager fare on our national feast day?

How thankful have you been during this  excruciatingly long political campaign?  I’ll be the first to admit I’m not thankful for most of it.  Blustering, name-calling accusation and counter-accusation.  It’s been embarrassing.

However, I am most thankful indeed for our freedom in this country to vote for the individual who will sit in the White House for the next four years.  I’m thankful even for our often-confusing delegate system, which few of us understand.  It hasn’t been this important since Reagan and Ford!

Today is Pennsylvania’s primary day.  I will vote before I go to work. I’m thankful for that. I’m thankful for the car that will get me there, and then to my office.  I’m thankful that there won’t be armed guards at my polling place, nor at my workplace.  I’m thankful that almost everyone follows traffic laws, helping to keep me safe on the road.  I’m thankful that I’ll eat something before I leave this morning.  Thankful for the hot water I used at the flick of a tap.  Thankful for the comfortable bed I slept in last night. For this computer I use daily to write out my blog posts. For the freedom to write about my faith.

Most of all, I’m thankful that for nearly 64 years I’ve known Jesus Christ as my Savior. I was only five when I asked Him to forgive my sin and take me to heaven.  I’m thankful that He is faithful, and that His Word is truth.

Be thankful.  It will lift your spirits.

Leave a Reply

