Sing!

Ephesians 5:19. “Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord:”

I’m sorry to be so late today.  Because of  my hinky back and my spring allergies,  I decided to sleep in today. Haven’t slept that late–10 a.m.!–in years, and I think it helped a bit.

Anyway, I love this verse because I get to talk about music for a little bit 🙂   I love music. It has been a foundation stone in my life as long as I can remember, and I have annoyed my students (and my own kids) over the years because I can think of a snatch of some song to fit nearly any occasion.

And I’d just like to ask, what’s wrong with that?  Isn’t that what God tells us to do here? We are to encourage each other with songs, hymns, psalms, spiritual songs.  We are to sing to the Lord.  He is a musical Being.  He created music.  I can’t wait to hear Him sing!

My voice is pretty much shot these days.  Too many rounds with bronchitis, too many allergies, probably too much overuse.  But that doesn’t mean I can’t still enjoy the wonderful music I’ve known all my life, as well as some pretty gorgeous new things that are being produced regularly.

I have a set of three books entitled Then Sings My Soul.  It has to just be my soul, because the voice is not a blessing 🙂  But how I love to go through those books and play through the songs on my piano.  What a joy it is to realize how many of our great songs came straight from the scripture!  How privileged I am to still have my hearing, so that even though I can’t sing any more, I can listen.

God’s music will lift our hearts, make us joyful even in the hard times, and help us encourage others.  Even as I write, titles of songs are flashing through my mind  that correlate with the words I’m typing.

Let your soul sing.

3 thoughts on “Sing!

  1. I love to sing. One of my favorite times of the week is the sing time at the local senior center. We all have croaky voices, but we don’t let that stop us. Half of the sing time is from the hymnbook and half is themed. For instance this week our theme was cowboy music. Nothing wrong with Home on the Range.
    Since our Center is largely funded with tax money and the building belongs to the city, as it was one time an elementary school, we sing songs about Jesus and pray regularly and I teach a morning devotional time. Shhh, don’t tell someone who might be offended! Oh, we also have prayer before we eat together. But, that is another subject.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, I don’t LEAD the singing, I just sing along with the others. From time to time, I bring a hymn story and tell it. God has been faithful to give me several friends at the senior center and we have a good time. As a result, I do have the weekly devotional time.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

