Say Nothing!

Ephesians 5:12. “For it is a shame even to speak of those things which are done of them in secret.”

Please don’t think I’m making light of the scripture.  I used this picture because it’s exactly how I feel when something I shouldn’t say seems to come sliding right out of my face.  Conversation provides so many opportunities to sin!

We may feel we’re doing okay because we don’t do all the evil things that people who do not walk with God are prone to do.  This verse warns us that we need to be careful not to even mention the evil that takes place under cover of darkness–and these days, a lot of that evil is right out in plain sight.

The strength of a Christian is in his separation from the world and his devotion to Christ.  For many believers, what comes out of our mouths can destroy our testimony in a hearbeat. The tongue is an unruly muscle, and one that we exercise far too often.

Yesterday I made reference to the stories I hear in my work. I pray that God will protect me from thinking about those stories, and that He will put a guard on my mouth so that I don’t repeat them.  I will share something that is funny, or that is applicable to all of us; however, I never speak of that which is evil.  Better to let those things die in my own brain than to share them and infect others with evil thoughts.

I’m learning, always learning, that it’s often wise to just shut up.

3 thoughts on “Say Nothing!

Leave a Reply

