No Corrupt Communication

Ephesians 4:29. “Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that  it may minister grace unto the hearers.”

Two more commands to add to our list:  Speak only wholesome words; speak words that are helpful to edify others.

I am often saddened, sometimes appalled, by what people who identify themselves as Christians are willing to say or put into print on a social media outlet.

Come on.  We all know what the words freaking and fricking  are substitutes for. I find them completely offensive and unnecessary, and I don’t understand why anyone would use them.  If you wouldn’t say the other word, then don’t use the euphemisms.

When I was a young teen, I developed the habit of using the word darn, a substitute for damn.  When my mom and dad got after me, and told me what I was really saying, it didn’t take me long at all to remove that word from my vocabulary.  Same with gosh, golly, heck, and so on.

Another one that sets my teeth on edge is the ubiquituous  OMG that I see all over Facebook. Why use that when you wouldn’t say the words it stands for?  Do we really have to use it to react to everything from a picture of a cute dog to a picture of something beautiful in nature?

Dare I go into the political arena?  This miserably long primary season has shown us the seamy side of life, hasn’t it?  Insults, anatomical references, vitriolic criticisms and accusations have all flown across the country and back.

Words mean things, folks. They can be used for good or evil, and we should never knowingly use them for evil. Words that NO ONE used to say in polite company are now thrown around  by  men and women alike, and they have cheapened us and corrupted us.

Colossians 4:6.  “Let your speech be alway with grace, seasoned with salt; that ye may know how ye ought to answer every man.”

3 thoughts on “No Corrupt Communication

Leave a Reply

