Truth is in Jesus

Ephesians 4:20-22. “But ye have not so learned Christ; If so be that ye have heard Him and have been taught by Him, as the truth is in Jesus: That ye put off concerning the former conversation the old man, which is corrupt according to the deceitful lusts:”

“You have not learned about Christ as a God Who doesn’t care how you live your lives.  You have heard the truth about Him from me; some of you may even have seen Him or heard Him while He walked here on earth with us.  He taught us that when we come to Him for salvation, redemption, regeneration, that we are to  put off, remove, take off all signs of our former behaviors, the old man whose nature was governed by sin and is corrupt and full of deceitful lusts” ∼ (paraphrase is my own)

Please don’t misunderstand.  I’m not trying to improve on the scripture here. These are simply the thoughts and words that came to mind as I pondered these three verses.

As I study through this passage, from verse 17 to the end of the chapter, I find myself wondering at the incredible patience God shows us.  He has made it so clear how we are to live. I am convicted on several levels, knowing that I am not consistent and faithful in everything.  Some days are better than others, but my old nature is, sadly, alive and well.  For me, sin is not often outward and visible to everyone else.  It is the struggle with the inner being, to keep my thoughts free of anger, judgment, bitterness and a critical spirit. It is, after all, out of the issues of the heart that the mouth speaks.

This passage is a challenge to me to ever be more obedient in spirit, so that His Spirit can fill me up.

2 thoughts on “Truth is in Jesus

  1. http://myrapawleys@wordpress.com

    Yes, I agree. We are all good at “looking good”. It is only as I get closer to God that I see my sin more and more clearly. I am then able to say, “Oh my Lord and my God, it is against you I have sinned. Have mercy! If I sin against Him, I truly sin against my neighbor in both thought and deed, both knowing and unknowing. Lord, have mercy!
    The word of God is new daily and sharper than any two-edged sword! TBTG!
    Thank you for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

