Past Feeling

Ephesians 4:19. “Who being past feeling have given themselves over unto lasciviousness, to work all uncleanness with greediness.”

Those who do not know God can lose all sensitivity to sin.

I believe this is happening all around the world today, and it grieves the heart of God when the lack of shame affects believers, as well. We don’t want to even use the word sin, replacing it with things like poor choices, mistakes. Christ did not die for my mistakes.  Mistakes are things like adding a column of figures incorrectly.  That’s not sin. It’s just a mistake that can be quickly corrected.

Sin is what put Jesus on the cross. The evil within the heart of mankind is the reason He died.  When a sinner comes to Christ for forgiveness and salvation,  there WILL be a change in him.  He will look differently on behaviors that seemed normal before; he will become uncomfortable with sin.

We are called upon to live not by the greedy, selfish desires in our hearts, but as those who have been set free from the chains of sin, cleansed by the blood of Jesus, set in right relationship with God through the sacrifice of His Son.

Lasciviousness involves sexual immorality.  The lifestyle that focuses on fulfilling the lusts of the flesh should never be characteristic of a believer.

We are to be different from the unsaved. If we are not, how can we show them the love of God?

13 thoughts on “Past Feeling

  1. Studying Joshua. Yesterday’s lesson looked at how our sin affects those around us. Achan took items from under the ban. As a result the Israelites lost the next battle and many lost their lives. Achan’s family, his sheep, donkey, oxen, tent, everything he owned was burned with fire. God takes sin seriously.

    I know the OT is different than than New Covenant. We are under grace now. Under the blood of Christ. But my sin still impacts everyone around me. Not because God is a vengeful God, but because sin changes ME! It changes the way I behave towards others. It causes me to hide, to lie, to … I don’t need to go on.

    My point? I had some repenting to do yesterday. And everyday. I want to live a life free from sin. I want to live the eternal life that Christ provided on the cross for me beginning today! I’m so grateful that I can! I’m grateful that His mercy is new every morning.

      1. Worthy? WHAT?? Don’t you realize how many people you have blessed, encouraged, and set an example for? My word. I’m–almost–speechless 🙂

      2. I don’t feel like I have anything to add to scripture. I know. It seems silly to say, but any time I try to write out a comment or explanation, it just seems lame.

      3. I don’t think any of us can add anything to scripture. If I can explain it in a way that helps someone, then I’m happy. You do just fine with that. You write with your heart.

    1. Remember the accounting of Ananias and Sapphira and their sin of lying to the Holy Spirit in the Book of Acts. Sin is sin even under the New Covenant.

  2. Henry Gordon

    Paul’s comment in 1 Cor. 3:11-15 is the answer to this seeming dilemma between law and grace taking into consideration what Jesus says in Mat. 7:21-23

    1. Where is the dilemma between law and grace? I’m not sure I understand that first statement. The scriptures you’ve cited certainly explain that some who claim Christ are not truly born again. The book of Ephesians is written to believers, though, and the lesson for us here is to not live as unbelievers do.

Leave a Reply

