One More Day

One more day, I think, until I’m ready to resume my regular posting schedule.  Everyone is gone. Ken’s got back home to South Dakota yesterday in the late afternoon.   Mike’s family left yesterday to see friends in Virginia and then travel South to see Janan’s family.  So.  The house is really quiet, and it’s going to take some readjustment before I’m okay with all of them being gone again.

I slept until 8:30 this morning, which for me is most unusual.  I was up around six, but decided I could catch a few more zzzzzz’s.  I surely did  🙂

I need to go swimming today.  I missed three of my regular sessions.  Amazingly, I haven’t regained any of the weight I’ve lost so far.  I don’t go back to work until a week from tomorrow.  I’m going to need this week to recover from last week!

There have been so many blessings, I can’t even count them. Life is changing so fast.  The possibility of every grandchild being present at another gathering becomes less  now, as they’re reaching college age. It could be that some of the older ones will be starting their own families in the next few years, and of course that changes everything.

You know that old saying, “Life is short”?

Guess what?  It’s the truth.  Treasure every moment, especially the times you gather as a family.  As the Bible says, life is a vapor: “Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth.” (James 4:14).

Here’s another truth that I’m experiencing these days: With every day that passes, I understand more clearly that our experience here is just a prelude to the eternity that will follow. For those who know Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior, it is an eternity to welcome with joy and anticipation.  I do not dread death itself, and even the process is becoming less awful as I approach my 70’s.  I’ve always feared dying of cancer or some other slow, painful disease. Not any more. God gives us  the strength to endure what we must, and even to make the process one of victory (Philippians 4: 13).

All right, I think I’m done for today.  One last thing.  Here’s a picture Janan took yesterday as we were leaving for church.  I like it a lot.

TerLinChristmas2015

 

2 thoughts on “One More Day

Leave a Reply

