Just Writing out Loud :)

It’s late.  I came in here to shut down the computer, and got the urge to write.  Everyone besides Terry and me went out to Hershey today, and they’re not back yet.  The house has been incredibly quiet after two days of lots of noise.  Good noise.

Sure is nice to see my kids and grandkids.  The grands are all growing up so fast!  The oldest is 18 now, and the youngest is already six. You know, when you’re young you think you’ll never grow old, and the time seems plenty long enough.  Now, however, it’s as if the sixty-eight years behind me were lived in a nano-second.  Of course, my  children who range from late 30’s to mid-40’s put the lie to that notion 🙂

We got news yesterday of the sudden death of the husband of a young friend who is only in her mid-30’s, with three children to rear.  Another  death of a young man in his early 40’s, leaving wife and at least one child. This kind of news leaves me just  speechless, and heartbroken for these young women who never dreamed they would be widowed so early in life.

We all know that death is a part of life, but we don’t really expect it to be a part of OUR lives!  At least, not until we’re so old that we don’t know a thing about it any more.

Be thankful for your spouse, your children, your grandchildren.  Don’t ever take them for granted.  We are not promised that our lives will be without loss and pain; only that God will be with us through the loss and pain.  We do need to learn to cherish the moment.

So.  I didn’t intend for this to be maudlin or preachy.  Just putting down words as they form in my mind.   I’m missing our son in California, who couldn’t be with us this year.  He’d have so enjoyed picking on his big brothers again.  Also missing his girlfriend, who flew to Slovakia to be with her parents over Christmas.  She’s  a sweet girl, and we’re enjoying her very much.

All right, that’s enough.  It’s almost exactly ten o’clock, and if I’m not in bed before Ken and family get here, I’ll be up until midnight hearing all about their day 🙂  That will wait until tomorrow.

If I don’t stop in again before Friday, I wish you all a wonderful Christmas, and thank you for being loyal readers and friends.

And to all, a good night 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “Just Writing out Loud :)

  1. I was thinking today about that Christmas long ago in 1969. It was perhaps the best Christmas I have ever spent. Seems SOOO LLOONNGGG ago; yet like yesterday. Thursday my daughter and I will be baking together getting ready for the next day and weekend. My oldest grandchild is 19, will be 20 in January and he is bringing home the girlfriend he found at PCC for Christmas. Wish we lived closer, Linda. We are alike in so many ways. Good ways. Merry Christmas to you and yours. I do hope that Terry is feeling better than a week ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You never know what life will bring your way or why. It doesn’t make sense because sometimes there seems to be a design and other time, the timing is off or something seems just evil. I know my great Aunt was widowed at age 32 after about 12 years of marriage to a slightly older man. They never had children, they were good Christian people. I was born when she was 51 years old. I always wanted to be her daughter and lived with her from the time I was born til I was 5 years old and my parents finally got their own place. My sister and I still spent weekends with my Aunt and Grandmother who lived together. My grandmother being divorced at the time herself. My great Aunt passed a couple of years later at age 58. She did everything right in life, was into good nutrition, she did have to live with my grandmother’s second hand smoke, but she ate natural organic foods, they grew berries and fruit trees in the backyard. My aunt lived the healthiest life of all her sisters and died the youngest of cancer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

