Sunday Solitude

So.  I’m home alone this morning, because of a nasty little infection.  It’s already responding well to the medication, but I’m just not feeling quite the thing.

And I’m trying to be positive about this, so here are some of the things for which I’m thankful:

  1. A doctor who knows me well enough to listen to my symptoms and be willing to prescribe over the phone
  2. A pharmacy that filled the script quickly.
  3. Insurance that pays for most of the meds
  4. My comfortable bed
  5. General good health, so my body is responding well to the meds
  6. Being alone in my house.  It’s unusual since Terry retired.
  7. Being able to read my Bible without interruption
  8. Being able to go back to bed when/if I feel like it
  9. Getting this taken care of before I have to start prepping for Thanksgiving
  10. Knowing that God made me; that He knows what’s wrong, and that there is a way to fix it.
  11. A husband who is frustrated that he can’t really do a thing to help. Not thankful he’s frustrated, but that he wishes there was something he could do. Terry’s a fixer.  Bugs him to death when he can’t fix something 🙂
  12. I got all my groceries yesterday, so tomorrow I think I’ll feel good enough to start on some things ahead of time.
  13. I’m an independent contractor, so I can take off whenever I choose to do so.  I always take off on Thanksgiving week.  Very nice.

I love Thanksgiving.  I think it’s a shame that so many stores are planning to be open all day, taking people away from family and friends on this very special holiday. I will not be doing any shopping on Thursday.  Nor Friday.  Black Friday and the Black Plague are about the same in my opinion. Most of my gifts are already purchased, and the online sales carry Black Friday prices for two or three weeks prior to and following Thanksgiving.

I’m thankful to be able to look forward to a calm, restful day.  No one who will be here is an avid football fan, so that won’t be a focus.  We’ll probably play some games, maybe do some Christmas decorating, enjoy the food, and think about why we have this holiday.

It will be a good day.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Sunday Solitude

  1. Sorry you aren’t feeling well. I am home alone today too. Just did not want to get out in the cold if I didn’t have to. Aching joints are traumatized in the cold and it is below freezing today. I usually attend church on days like this via streaming either at my son’s church, or Moody church. My church puts the Sunday messages on audio AFTER the service. I miss the fellowship of others, but I am not totally confined, so I get interaction throughout the week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

