Heaven’s Gain

I’m stepping away from Ephesians today. I want to pay a tribute to a beloved aunt who stepped into heaven yesterday after a long struggle with the conditions that come with age. In the last few years, she also had what was probably Alzheimer’s, and her family has watched her lose herself to that horrible disease.

KatieLyman

Today, however, she is perfect. She loved the Lord, and she will be missed in her church family as well as by her relatives. She was married to my Uncle Lyman for at least 50 years, and they had three children.

We moved away from Colorado when I was only two, and we never lived close to my dad’s family again. I’ve always wished we could have lived closer to Aunt Katie.  She just had a way of making you feel like you were at home, welcome, beloved.  Even though I didn’t know her well, the way you do with an aunt who lives nearby, I always felt a connection on the few times we did get to be together.  While my mom was dying, Aunt Katie’s was the gathering place for the relatives who lived nearby as well as for those of us who traveled a long way.

Katie was my dad’s youngest sister. She  took my mom in for several months after Mom moved from South Carolina to Colorado following my dad’s death.  Aunt Katie was just what my mom needed during that early part of her grieving.  She was both comforting and practical, a rare combination.

Of course,  thinking about Aunt Katie’s  homegoing puts me in mind of the family I have already said goodbye to:  Dad, my brother John, my nephew John, and Mom;  other uncles and aunts, grandparents on both sides of the family. My sister and I are now the matriarchs of our tribe 🙂 it’s a strange place to be, really, because life goes by so much faster than you think it’s going to. Life surely is just a vapor, as it says in James 4:14: “Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth.”

Katie’s life was a life well-lived. She will always be missed by her husband and her children, my cousins.  But we all look forward to the day when God calls us home, each in our own time, where I imagine Aunt Katie will be busy preparing a welcome-home dinner for the celebration.

3 thoughts on “Heaven’s Gain

  1. Thanks Linda. It ain’t over ‘til it’s over and until it’s over we’ve got work to do.

    “To live is Christ, and to die is gain.”

    Paul may have given us a hidden clue concerning living a Christian life victoriously. If we consider the feeling of our first step in heaven and seeing the Lord!, and then live life in the present according to that experience, it could very well be that victory never leaves us and our faith and joy remains ever strong.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

