In Heavenly Places

Ephesians 1:3. “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, Who hath blessed us with all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ.”

The beauty of the earth is so astonishing that it seems impossible to me that heaven will be even better, beyond our wildest imaginings! I have seen the Northern Lights on a cold winter night in northern Minnesota.  It’s a breathtaking sight, indeed.

God is the Father of the Lord, Jesus Christ. He sustains that relationship  to Jesus, and the wonderful thing is that when we come to Him in repentance and accept Jesus as our Savior, God becomes our Father as well, and makes us joint heir with Jesus to all that heaven holds.

“He hath blessed us.  He’s already blessed us.  Hath is past tense, It’s a done deal. Right here and now, I am blessed with every spiritual blessing in Christ Jesus. I obtained every blessing that God has for a redeemed sinner when I put my trust in the Lord Jesus Christ. I have it all!

It is one thing, however, to have the blessings; another things to truly make them yours. So what are some of these blessings?

Forgiveness of our sins, with justification from all things, with sanctification in Christ; a robe of perfect righteousness, with heavenly citizenship; a place in the Body of Christ; making us heirs of His riches in Christ Jesus, to name a few.

God has made Jesus to be unto us wisdom, righteousness, sanctification, and redemption.

“In heavenly places.” This is why we can sing “This world is not my home, I’m just a passin’ through; my treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue!”  Once we are saved, we are heavenly beings having an earthly experience. Our true home, and our true riches, are in Christ with God.

There is such depth in this one verse. I generally try to keep my posts  short enough not to be a chore, so I’m going to stop here.  I encourage you, however, to dig further into the meaning and the promises of this wonderful verse.

Leave a Reply

