Bear Your Own Burden

Galatians 6:4. “But let every man prove his own work, and then shall he have rejoicing in himself alone, and not in another. For every man shall bear his own burden.”

Paul certainly knew what it was to bear his own burden. His ministry was incredibly effective, and incredibly hard.

I think my Dake’s Study Bible explains this passage better than anything else I’ve found:

Let every man test his own work and conduct by the law of Christ and not by others, and he will find out just what he has in himslef to boast about. Every man must bear his own load, responsibility, for himself, but one can help share the burden, grief, misery, and pressure of another.

I”m reminded of the words from an old hymn: “In my hand no price I bring; simply to Thy cross I cling.”

5 thoughts on “Bear Your Own Burden

    1. Yes, it truy is. It came to me through a friend who had been given a box full of new Bibles. She thought I might be able to give them to clients. Most of them, that’s what I did. But I kept the Dake’s 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

