Restore Such an One

Galatians 6:1. “Brethren, if a man be overtaken in a fault, ye which are spiritual, restore such an one in the spirit of meekness; considering thyself, lest thou also be tempted.”

This might be a good time to go back to Gal. 5:22 and look again at the fruit of the Spirit: lOVE, JOY, PEACE, LONGSUFFERING, GENTLENESS, GOODNESS, FAITH, MEEKNESS, TEMPERANCE. (I didn’t put those in caps on purpose, but I think I’ll let it stand. )

So what are the identifying features of those who are spiritual?  Right there. The fruit of the Spirit=spirituality.

Notice that the verse says we are to restore the one who is “overtaken” in sin. This would seem to imply that the person did not set out to sin; was not rebellious and willful, but rather fell into temptation, perhaps through injudicious choices, that he was then unable to resist. Remembe Peter?  He had just sworn to Jesus that he would never deny Him, yet when temptation came, he was weak and unable to stand. He lied, three times; he betrayed the Savior that he loved.

I don’t know for sure, but I’m thinking Peter looked back on those moments with deep remorse and regret as time passed. I’m also sure that he knew he was forgiven, both by Jesus and by his fellow apostles and other Christians. What a loss it would have been to Christianity if they had all just coldly turned their backs on Peter for his sin!

I have learned, over many years, that harsh judgment seldom regains a fallen person. Yes, he must face his sin and confess it; he must turn around and walk the other way. But we need to always respond in a spirit of meekness, considering that we too are liable to sin. No one of us is immune, or above the pull of temptation. My weakness may be different than yours, but let me assure you that it is no better or no worse.

If there had never been a murderer or an adulterer, Jesus would still have had to die.  For me. Because my sin stands between me and a holy God, and the only view God has of me is through the blood of Jesus.

One thought on “Restore Such an One

  1. Mmombwa

    I greet all of you Dear brothers and sisters.
    I’m a responsable of Bible institut from free methodist church in Drc/congo,kalemie.
    We have a big problem now,this year we will not open classes due by an unsufficient to pay teachers,so that we invit you to pray for this situation,even if in your daily prayer.thanks.
    GOD will make a way.
    Mmombwa ebuela

Leave a Reply

