Has Telling the Truth Made Me your Enemy?

Galatians 4:15-16. “Where is then the blessedness ye spake of?  for I bear you record, that, if it had been possible, ye would have plucked out your own eyes, and have given them to me. Am I therefore become your enemy, because I tell you the truth? ”

"Am I therefore become your enemy, because I tell you the truth?" - Galatians 4:16

There really is nothing new under the sun. So many times, we would rather believe the lie than the truth, even when it is Truth that sets us free!  Why?  Sin works in us all the time to keep us from the truth. Never forget, we have an enemy who is first and foremost God’s enemy.

Can you hear the hurt in Paul’s words?  “There was a time when you would have plucked out your own eyes and given them to me because I brought you truth, and you loved me for it.  Now, it seems, I am  your enemy for the very same reason–I told you truth!”

The judaizers had done a really good job of making the Galatians doubt Paul, doubt his teaching, doubt his apostleship. The plan they offered instead appealed to them because it gave them some control, some power, to gain heaven by their own works.

It takes a little humility to acknowledge that there is nothing at all we can do that makes us good enough for God to overlook our sin and accept us into His heaven. All the systems man has devised to work his way into heaven are nothing to God.

Isaiah 64:6

But we are all as an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags; and we all do fade as a leaf; and our iniquities, like the wind, have taken us away.

4 thoughts on “Has Telling the Truth Made Me your Enemy?

  1. The truth is all I need. But, the last few months of my Honours the truth has being nothing else but hurting and perhaps as a breaker than to builder. I am currently busy with my mini dissertation which I am about to give up doing. Each email I receive from my supervisor regarding it is painful. I feel like she’s judging my abilities when shes trying to help. I have moved from being a straight A student to a typical student failing to comply with requirements. I am just wondering what is God’s plan for me this year. I feel like a total fairer. Well, the truth makes me feel even worse, like my supervisor is my enemy. I am about to break down and I am left with no hope whatsoever.

    1. Oh, dear. I’m so sorry. Wish there was something I could do to help you. Maybe you need to ask for an appointment with your advisor and talk this out. Maybe she has no idea how discouraged you are.

  2. larcenia cromwell

    This is so true. I am retired from the work place, so I spend a lot of my time studying and researching the truth of God’s word. Many of my friends are born again Christians, however; it is they that always get mad when you point out the truth as it is written in the Bible they profess to love and believe. Many don’t socialize with me as before, since I came into an understanding of scripture. It use to bother me, but not anymore, I realize people will hate you when you bring forth truth. People don’t want to be disturbed of their comfortable slumber zone. Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

