Crucified with Christ

Galatians 2:20. “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me, and gave Himself for me.”

I am crucified with Christ:  Because He took my place. Because it was for my sin that He died. Because He voluntarily took on the weight of all my sin; in fact, He actually became sin for me while He was on the cross.  These statements can be repeated for everyone, for all mankind, because “God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son; that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life (John 3:16).”

Nevertheless I live:  Just as I was identified with Him on the cross, now I am linked with Him in His resurrection, for He has given me to be a partaker of His own glorious eternal life.

Yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: It is not really MY life, but His life of which I am a partaker.  My life is not my own.  I am bought with a price, I belong to Him, and He lives in me.

And the life which I now live in the flesh: My physical body, by God’s grace, lives and breathes and functions on this earth.

I live by the faith of the Son of God: This life I live right now is one of complete faith in Christ.

Who loved me and gave Himself for me: Jesus loved me!  How can I do anything less than give Him the life I now live?

Many of us have this verse memorized, and we can rattle it off without giving it much thought.  I want to challenge you to take it apart in your own way, after you read this, and spend some time meditating on the simplicity, the complexity, and the beauty of the Lord Jesus Christ, Who loved YOU and gave HImself for you.

Christianity is the only faith in the history of the world that offers a Savior. A living Savior, a loving Savior. The only One.

Leave a Reply

