Meanwhile. . . .

Matthew 26:14-16. “Then one of the twelve, called Judas Iscariot, went unto the chief priests, And said unto them, What will ye give me, and I will deliver Him unto you? And they covenanted with Him for thrity pieces of silver. And from that time he sought upportunity to betray Him.”

Who was Judas?  We don’t know a lot about  him. His surname is made up of two words, “Ish” and “Kerioth,” translated “the man of Kerith.”  He was the only disciple from Judea; the rest were from Galilee. There is symbolism here, showing the apostasy of Judah.  Judas is a type of the coming man of sin, the son of perdition, the personal Anti-Christ, who will be a Jew.

In  Luke22:3  we are told that Satan entered into Judas. He was literally possessed of Satan, and no longer operating under his own volition. This could not have happened if Judas had been a true believer, as were the other eleven.  It seems clear that Judas never really believed in Jesus. One wonders, then, why he chose to follow Christ for the years of His ministry. All we can do is surmise, and the most obvious guess is that he saw an opportunity for both fame and wealth. He became the one among them who kept the common purse, and there isn’t much doubt that he was hoping to profit from his adventure with Jesus.

Jesus knew from the beginning that Judas was not a true disciple (John 6:64). He knew who would betray Him to the rulers of the Jews (John 13:11).

All of it had been predicted in Old Testament prophecy (Zech. 11:12; Psalm 41:9; 69:25); and  Exodus 21:32 gives thirty pieces of silver as the price of a servant, or a slave.

Judas was in it for the money.

Poor man.

7 thoughts on “Meanwhile. . . .

  1. I’d forgotten that the anti Christ will be a Jew. Makes one wonder how that will happen as much as the Jews are hated, particularly by their surrounding neighbors. But that will also come after the Rapture so events will evolve to accept a Jew for the position. Gave me something to “chew” on today.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s sad. I love Jesus. He is my Savior and it pains me how many times I have done things that, in my mind, were betraying Him. I just hope I don’t feel ashamed when I have to face Him. Until then, I have to trust Him to change my heart and life into what He wants me to be.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

