Jesus had Compassion

Matthew 20:33-34. “They say unto Him, Lord that our eyes may be opened. So Jesus had compassion on them, and touched their eyes: and immediately their eyes received sight, and they followed Him.”

com·pas·sion
kəmˈpaSHən/
noun
  1. sympathetic pity and concern for the sufferings or misfortunes of others.
    “the victims should be treated with compassion”
    synonyms: pity, sympathy, empathy, fellow feeling, care, concern, solicitude,sensitivity, warmth, love, tenderness, mercy, leniency, tolerance,kindness, humanity, charity

    1. antonyms: indifference, cruelty
    Origin
    Middle English: via Old French from ecclesiastical Latin compassio(n-), from compati‘suffer with.’
     

 Jesus had such pity for people that He actually suffered with them in their pain. He had compassion on all of us, didn’t He?

This beautiful picture of Jesus simply touching the eyes that He had created is evocative of the personal, intimate way in which He wishes to interact with each one of us.  He wants healing for us in more than our physical needs; He wants to heal our sinful souls, and take us to live with Him forever in heaven.

I love it that the two healed men immediately followed Him. No hesitation.

6 thoughts on “Jesus had Compassion

  1. Mercy is not a spiritual gift of mine; I have to work at it. Prone to come out of my mouth is, “Well, that’s what you get when. . .” But, compassion makes a difference. Jude 22 You have prompted me to do a short word study this morning.

    Like

    1. I’m with you on that, Karyl. Compassion is there, but it needs to be stirred up in order to stay alive. Yesterday I had a client who has just learned that her daughter has thyriod cancer. That sort of thing stirs up the compassion, for sure. When I can no longer weep with those who weep, I’ll need to think about retirement!

      Like

  2. Geri

    I don’t comment much but I love these studies. Just wanted to say so 🙂 Seeing compassion defined this way in light of Jesus actions is eye opening, heart opening the more I think about it. Seeing painful circumstances as part of his creation and also as opportunities for his glory to be demonstrated and shown is so helpful. Just amazing! God is good all the time!

    Like

  3. I also realize that I have favorite objects of compassion and others, I’m convicted, that I tend to coldly dismiss in my heart. (But that’s where the adventures usually begin!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

