With God, All Things are Possible

Matthew 19: 25-26. “When His disciples heard it, they were exceedingly amazed, saying, Who then can be save? But Jesus beheld them, and said unto them, With men, this is impossible: but with God all things are possible.”

One sentence that had me stopping to think today: “But Jesus beheld them.”

He beheld them. He gazed at them; looked intently at them; watched them carefully.

After all they had heard and seen of Him, they were still exceedingly amazed at His doctrine. If a rich man can’t be easily save, then who can?

What?  None of them were wealthy, as far as I know.  What were they worried about?  I can only think that they STILL did not understand what was going on right in their midst.  They’d get a glimpse now and then, and seem to be more cognizant of what they were witnessing. But then Jesus would toss another wrench into the works and have them all befuddled.  I may be wrong, but I imagine Him just shaking His head in amazement Himself at how slow they were to grasp simple concepts.

Kind of like He’s amazed at how slow I can be; at how obtuse I am when He does a miracle for me and I  don’t see it, or I explain it away with a shrug. Aren’t we all guilty?

The patience of Jesus, though, is never-ending. He simply reminds the disciples that with men, of course, very little is possible. With God, nothing—NOTHING—is impossible. Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

 

2 thoughts on “With God, All Things are Possible

  1. How easily we can turn to Scripture to find some comfort, confidence, calm, but the disciples and people of that time did not have that luxury. I try to recall that when I shake my head in dismay over their dullness. What a wonderful treasure is ours through Guttenburg’s printing press.

    Like

Leave a Reply

