Friday

What an absolutely cool place we saw!  The South Dakota School of Mines and Technology is in Rapid City. It houses the Museum of Geology, which is fabulous and free 🙂  Ken especially wanted us to see the dinosaur skeletons that are the real thing, not just replicas.  They’re amazing!  I’ve always been intrigued by these wonderful animals; their size is hard for us to visualize. There were only two displays that showed fossils NOT found in South Dakota.  Everything else was native to the state. We learned that the biggest  dinosaur known is the titanosaurus, and the biggest land mammal every discovered is the paraceratherius.Image I

Image

am fascinated by what God created that we’ve never seen.  I am intrigued by the fact that some of these massive creatures walked the earth when man did.  I am awed by the destruction the Flood wreaked on the entire earth, turning things inside out and upside down, and killing thousands of animals whose bones are heaped up together. They were huge, but God is bigger!

 

On the way home, we stopped at Wall Drug, which is a whole lot different than I remember when we stopped there when I was about 12. Terry asked me to climb up on the Jackalope, which I agreed to do.  The kid you see popping in behind me is Kyle 🙂 The other pictures were taken in the museum.  Kyle is to Sheila’s left, Ivan to her right; and of course Alayna with her dad. 

Image

 

 

Okay, I’ve done something or the other in  transferring these pics from one folder to another that I don’t understand, so I’m going to go ahead and post this, then put up another post of Ken and family. 

Leave a Reply

