Happy Birthday, Mom

I wrote this for http://www.lindaswritingblog.wordpress.com, but decided to share it here as well, since so many of you have followed my family events. Hope you enjoy it, and especially if you knew my mom.

Just Writing!

Today, my mom would have been 89.  She went to heaven two years ago in July.  It still seems strange for me not to call her on Mother’s Day, her birthday, or just because. ImageHere she is, a year or so before she died, with three of her great-grandchildren–three of my favorite kids 🙂

Mom was part of the Great Generation.  She grew up hard, although I don’t think she thought about it much.  It’s just the way things were.  I do remember her talking about longing for a glass of cold milk.  She loved milk, and never got enough. I also remember her talking about never having had a pair of store-bought panties until after she was married, at the ripe old age of 16.  She wore underwear made of flour sacking, something  our children today  think of pretty much in the same way they think about Cinderella and…

View original post 610 more words

Leave a Reply

