Daily Post: When Will I be Loved?

(Have you dreamt of becoming famous? What would your claim to fame be? Comedy? Acting? Writing? Race car driving? Go!)

 

One of the nicest things about being old(er) is that you get over yourself!  At least, ideally you get past the delusion that you’re going to be world-famous, and you just settle in to appreciating what you have. 

Image

Back in the day, however, before this wonderful place of peace and contentment in which I now live ever existed, I certainly had my dreams of being acknowledged for my incredible talents.  Plural.  

Well, maybe not world-famous.  

Maybe not even famous in just my own country. 

Or state, 

Or town. 

Family, maybe? 

Here’s the truth:  Very few people rise to such a place of fame that they are remembered throughout the annals of history. 

So how about the “being loved” part? 

My family loves me, at least most of the time.  I have wonderful friends who love me.  I have clients and co-workers who while they may not love me, certainly respect me and appreciate what little wisdom I’ve gained over the years.  I’ve been privileged to touch many lives.  Somed would tell you it wasn’t a very positive touch.  I hope the damage wasn’t permanent, and I hope those people will learn to forgive me where I’ve been wrong.

I work in a profession that tries to adhere to the “do no harm” principle.  It would be good if we could apply that principle across the course of our entire lives. 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/when-will-i-be-loved/

Leave a Reply

