Daily Post: Can’t Get it Out of my Head

(Have you ever become obsessed with something? Tell us about something that captivates your attention like nothing else.)

For me, it’s almost always music. A melody replays on a continuous loop.  I hum it all day.  I drive people crazy all around me because I don’t even know I’m doing it.

Worst-case, though, is when just a couple of words or lines of a song elude my dismally failing memory. Last night Terry and I were in the car with some old friends, and we got to talking about old songs we all remember from when we were kids.  Lots of folk songs, like Clementine and I’ve Been Working’ On the Railroad. I started singing Jimmy Crack Corn, and the chorus is easy. But then I tried to remember the words to the verses, and that was a different story entirely.  No one does these songs any better than Burl Ives.

You can google the song and learn about its origins, supposed history and meaning.  Frankly, I think it’s a lot more fun just to sing it. And now that I’ve heard the verses again, I can let this one go and start figuring out all the words to Clementine  🙂

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/cant-get-it-out-of-my-head/

5 thoughts on “Daily Post: Can’t Get it Out of my Head

  1. Michael Kreger

    One of my all-time favorite quotes:

    “If Jimmy cracked corn and no one cared, why is there a song about it?”

  2. Pingback: Be aware, for Dragons live among Us | Wired With Words

  3. Pingback: Leave me alone! | Love.Books.Coffee.

Leave a Reply

