What is the Matter With You!

Matthew 16:7-12. “And they reasoned among themselves, saying, It is because we have taken no bread. Which when Jesus perceived, He said unto them, O ye of little faith, why reason ye among yourselves, because ye have brought no bread? Do ye not yet understand neither remember  the five thousand, and how many baskets ye took up? Neither the seven loaves of the four thousand, and how many baskets ye took up? How is it that ye do not understand that I spake it not to you concerning bread, that ye should beware of the leaven of the Pharisees and of the Sadducees? Then understood they how that He bade them not beware of the leaven of bread, but of the doctrine of the Pharisees and of the Sadducees.”

If Jesus had been One Who rolled His eyes, this would have been a good opportunity.

If you’ve ever had children, or had anything to do with the teaching and training of children, you know that sometimes they just don’t get it!   Nothing in their noggins. Vast empty expanses.

I used to tell my kids something I felt was important. I insisted that they look at me, right in my eyes. I told them what they needed to hear.  Then I said, “Okay, now what did I just say?”

As they grew up, they got better at listening and repeating what I had said.  Then I would add, “And what do you think I meant?”  Hmmmm.  Results varied.  I didn’t have stupid kids.  They’re all actually very bright, and I’m proud to claim them all.  Just in case any of the four of them are reading this 🙂  The thing is, sometimes they just weren’t paying close attention, and so they missed the point, and had to hear it again. And again.

That’s pretty much what was going on with the disciples in this passage.  They were so hung up on who should have bought the bread that they weren’t really getting the meaning of what Jesus was trying to tell them.  He had to tell them again, reminding them of the miracles of the feeding of the five thousand and then the four thousand, and all the leftovers.

Why would they worry about bread for twelve?

Why do we worry about anything?

Oh we, of little faith.

Leave a Reply

